Webb and Warner Vote To Confirm Bernanke

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Here's the roll call vote, 70-30 in favor of Ben Bernanke to be Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System for another term of four years. An eclectic mix of Senators voted "nay," including liberals like Barbara Boxer, Russ Feingold, Al Franken, and Bernie Sanders plus arch-conservatives like Jim DeMint and James Inhofe.

In the end, both Mark Warner, who had spoken out in favor of reconfirming Bernanke; and Jim Webb, who hadn't said much at all on the subject, voted "aye." Overall, I feel like there was really no other serious choice in this matter, given the unlikelihood of anyone better being nominated and confirmed through the dysfunctional U.S. Senate. Some day, it would be great to have a real progressive as Federal Reserve Chairman, but that day almost certainly won't come in the next four years.